Texas Dog Fall

2013-10-02 17.04.21My two pomegranate trees were troopers this year despite the heat and killer humidity of this summer. Both bore fruit, ranging from a couple of golf ball sized ones to mostly large, nearly grapefruit sized pinkish red fruit that yielded the most delightful red arials one would ever want to eat. The picture you see is just part of the harvest; amazingly these little trees can really load up, becoming quite lovely in the fall with red globes on green.

You can see two of my four furry boys here, Shadow (behind the tree) and Rex in front. They love pomegranate seeds almost as much as dried blueberries and carrots.

Their curiosity keeps them close to my side as I tend, mulch, plant and harvest throughout the year. Shadow in particular, is a real farmer doggie, who digs for potatoes and carrots which are favorites. I learned of his ‘farmer gene’, a couple of months ago when I accidently left the vegetable garden gate unlocked.

Fortunately, I did manage to grab some potatoes, but the carrots were entirely decimated as Shadow and the 3 other dogs had excavated the entire harvest! Discovering these boys doing what dogs must do, did nothing to slow down their efforts except for a quick sly guilty look on the part of Shadow who immediately went back to yanking up a carrot stem. I would have taken pictures but I was laughing so hard it was impossible to get a still shot. I figured, ‘what the hey’, put down my camera and we had our fun that morning; with me getting down on the ground amongst them, trying to gather what few carrots they would let me take and pointing out the ones they missed. For several days after, all four pups enjoyed their harvest of somewhat decimated bulb carrots during snack times.

 

About Deborah Leddon

Vegetarian Mother and Wife, Scientist at UTD CSS, passionate about my family, animal rights, the outdoors and my violin.
This entry was posted in Dogs, organic food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Texas Dog Fall

  1. The fruit is so beautiful! What variety do you grow?

    Like

    • Deborah Leddon says:

      Hello,
      I’m not sure what it is – it came from Calloways nursery about 5 years ago. I assume it may be either a ‘wonderful’ or ‘Ambrosia’, though likely Ambrosia as they never obtain a deep red color such as the Wonderfuls do.

      Are you considering growing one?

      Deb

      Like

Leave a Reply

