Never thought about it until my friend did it..

Last week I met a friend for coffee at the local Starbucks. As she walked up looking pretty sharp in a crisp white shirt and jeans, I couldn’t help being surprised by Cherrie’s hair – it was totally gray. She was no longer sporting the salt-n-pepper do I had seen her in for the past 25 years.

Cherrie went gray early. In her late twenties, she quickly developed some serious temple locks of silver which spread quickly over the years, through 5 children, the financial collapse of her spouse’s two companies and finally long term unemployment for both with 2 teenagers still at home. It may be genetic, who knows with Cherrie, but when I saw her last week, she looked better than I had ever seen her in years. She seemed rested, somewhat relieved of having to deal with the workplace and content with the choices her older children had made in life. What’s better – her hair was awesome, obviously a new hairdresser knew what to do with Cherrie’s head better than anyone had before. She seemed to glow – her hair was not just a bold silver gray but had subtle shades in it as well. I complimented her and she said “yeah, this one I like; I get a lot of compliments on it”.

A few of my friends have chosen to embrace their age on their heads and I would like to be next, when I let my hair grow a bit. It’s quite short now, with large curls and waves, not normally seen with longer hair. I don’t think there’s enough there to embrace a new color anyway.

There’s a pretty neat Facebook page  GGG going gray guide with a number of photos of gone gray gals.

About Deborah Leddon

Vegetarian Mother and Wife, Scientist at UTD CSS, passionate about my family, animal rights, the outdoors and my violin.
This entry was posted in Life after 50. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

