Dog Day Morning

Waking early to a furry child embedded in my neck, I stumbled through a rather cold house (thermostat set to 69 degrees) to my sofa tray computer to open my fitness tracker. It’s a new thing for me  after a long slump period of doing absolutely nothing as far as my activity level.

I thought I was making up for real exercise by what I was doing every day managing a new job, my home, the Pup pack, my garden, my commitments to my congregation, yadah, yadah.. Apparently I’m not, as I stay perpetually at 25 pounds over the weight I would normally feel good at. This, in truth, has been a problem for me since mid 2009, as the result of coming upon a health crises and a stressful job situation that hit at the same time. There is no substitute for taking care of yourself, as I’ve found out – it only took two exercise sessions and I’m hooked – I feel so much better.

So what does this have to do with a Dog Day Morning? Right now my little Cairn terrier Rex;

2013-11-07 07.44.51

is crying to usurp Shadow’s spot next to me on the sofa.

2013-11-07 07.45.11

This is what every morning is like, from the time I peel one of these guys off my neck when I wake up, until I make my escape out the front door.

Now for some reason, all of them have crashed:

2013-11-07 07.58.47

2013-11-07 07.58.04

2013-11-07 07.57.25

Well, have to head off to another dog free session of jumping about with the ladies!

 

About Deborah Leddon

Vegetarian Mother and Wife, Scientist at UTD CSS, passionate about my family, animal rights, the outdoors and my violin.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Life after 50 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

