A Jewish Christmas Eve

2013-12-24 15.44.29What was I thinking? Another Christmas eve in Christian world with my Humanist (former Episcopalian) Spouse, 29 year old son, 4 + 2 furry kids and two keets (who never complain -mind you). I am preparing for the dinner tomorrow at the neighbors who always go all out for Christmas. Jeff, our neighbor, cooks like a professional chef and much like my hubby who cooks on a lighter note but just as well. We are bringing, gluten free and non-gluten free vegan pumpkin pies,  pumpkin bread, homemade cranberry sauce and gluten free stuffing. My efforts so far at 4:15 pm Dallas time? To the left is the nearly failed homemade cranberry sauce, you can see it’s quite runny as I cooked down two bags of organic cranberries. I’m usually good at this, but as you can see below, I managed to burn the first batch, along with the bottom of the pot….. 2013-12-24 15.44.56And if that wasn’t enough of a fubar in the cooking department, I forgot to mix in the guar gum with my new gluten free Kourambedies cookie recipe. Well, they came out looking great and tasting – well, great too, as they crumbled into pieces in my mouth.

2013-12-24 15.54.43

Still, the pumpkin bread came out fantastic. Really. I have yet to make the pies and stuffing. Do I need to consider more things to do on a Christmas eve? I think I’ll drop the stuffing and just make the pies as I am looking at a fun evening  ahead of me watching old movies with my two men and furry kids.

This has been a tune in kind of post – as  I haven’t blogged much lately. I am waiting to see if Sequestration will resolve allowing my research grant to pick back up. There may be hope – but  I won’t be too disappointed if it doesn’t turn back on. Science – pure research in America is becoming a thing of the past, at least in the arena of upper atmospheric and space sciences. There is a drive in the EU, China, Australia and likely elsewhere to move forward in this arena. The war on science has taken it’s toll, so if or when I ever return to the Center for space sciences, it will be to an almost empty building. Many of my friends have left for Europe  with two of my gal friends deciding to stay at home with the kids. More in my next post.

 

 

 

About Deborah Leddon

Vegetarian Mother and Wife, Scientist at UTD CSS, passionate about my family, animal rights, the outdoors and my violin.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Life after 50, organic food, Science Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

