Wolves, Predators and Numbers

Being on Facebook and being an Animal Rescue Cross-poster, I knew I’d eventually come across non-domestic animal rights issues. In my case, the first non-domestic path crossing came in the form of the large land and sea animals; elephants, orcas and dolphins. I said my say, donated and cross posted, reviewed, signed and commented, however, what came later seemed like a deluge, namely; the plight of American wolves. Being overwhelmed but wanting to make a difference in the suffering of these animals, I knew I had to pick a manageable corner to work on in this sea of low brow inhumanity that never seems to let up in its war against non-human animals. It’s wolves, wild canids and dogs that I chose to support in their right to freedom from human caused abuse and neglect. IN this article I will report on my recent ‘data gathering’ efforts with respect to wild predators, predominately – wolves.

One can’t possibly hope to deal with this issue from the bottom where these sociopaths (trappers, penners, torturers, etc) reside. I had somehow hoped that presentations of the facts e.g.; pure data, to our elected public servants and federal and state employees, would enlighten them enough to abolish these reprehensible practices and implement sound scientific policy in wildlife management. But that was a naïve perspective, one I dropped awhile back as continued political mismanagement, lies, and criminal trespass of the law continues to eat out the core of our American hearts and souls. It’s bad enough that this insanity continues unchecked, what really irks most of us is that the sociopaths are also at the top and they don’t care. This is the era of a disappearing middle class, billion dollar presidential elections and a ‘Ponzi’ economy driven by an exclusive and mutually supportive nest of corporate greediness and political scheming.

So where do the natural rights of wolves place in this entire mess? How do we make use of the data we have – the facts, which have been presented before, then ignored or just overlooked? How does one convince a politician, aligned with corporate greed, that a stable ecosystem is important and that wolves matter as a result? These were the questions I asked myself as I looked into Idaho and Montana’s cattle death numbers recently.

I broke down and emailed, based on my internal ‘hope never dies’ inner drive, Dianne Feinstein, California Senator, and her office responded with:

“Thank you for sending me your electronic mail message. I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with me.

Because of the volume of e-mail that is received by my office, we can only respond to email that includes a California postal address. Please resend the text of your e-mail message, including your postal address, and I will respond to you as soon as possible.”

I take this to mean a postal mailing. OK it goes back out on Jan 6th. Prepare for a long read – below is what I sent her originally via email (senator@feinstein.senate.gov):

“Dear Senator Feinstein,

As a resident of Texas, I doubt any appeal made to my state Representatives or Senators would even be read and I consider this to be of utmost importance as I am a taxpayer concerned with how my federal dollars are being spent. My apologies for this very detailed appeal – but it represents much accumulation of data and time on my part and I do appreciate the consideration and time spent on the part of you and your office in reading this.

I am asking you to initiate legislation to impose a federal ban on:

1. all penning and trapping of bears, coyotes, foxes and other wildlife in penning closures, where they cannot escape from horrific deaths in penning sessions. Ostensibly, this penning is said be done to train dogs to hunt, but it is also for the entertainment of bystanders who take pleasure in watching these animals die an awful death.

This practice is truly a stain on the reputation of the United States and is banned in most civilized countries. This is called “sport” and is legal only in United States of America and countries such as Pakistan, Korea, China – I think you know what I mean.

2. the trapping of wildlife, through devices designed to severely maim and break the limbs of the entrapped animal. This is a yet another horrific and agonizing death to inflict on not only wild animals but on the rising cases of companion animals as well.

With respect to the two-fold legislation I have requested you to take action on, I have included some data* and links** below my signature for your information. This data is specifically focused on ‘wolves’, ‘predators’, and ‘dogs’ which are currently the ‘victims’ of these cruel traps and pennings in the war on animals going on here in the US.

I am asking not just for myself, but for many Americans as well as for future generations, that you establish a historical precedence by initiating legislation to ban these practices completely in all 50 states and mandate prosecution to the fullest extent of the law, with heavy fines and jail sentences imposed upon anyone found guilty of practicing these repugnant acts.

With the current busting of the American trust in our federal government, I respectfully urge you to consider at least one light in the darkness of these days. I think you do know what I am referring to, as most Americans are just depleted in spirit and trust these days. I am not indicting you or anyone specific within the government – I am just a citizen relaying to you the national sentiment that is discussed at dinner tables and with friends in synagogues, churches and everywhere in the US and abroad.

Thank you,
Dr Deborah Leddon,
http://www.linkedin.com/in/deborahleddon”

**LINKS:
a. Companion and wildlife animals and traps:
http://www.kpax.com/news/clarkston-dog-loses-leg-after-being-caught-in-a-trap/#_

http://www.wildearthguardians.org/site/PageServer?pagename=priorities_wildlife_war_wildlife_kill_methods_trapping_abuse#.UsBTZbLnZAg

http://www.ecouterre.com/fur-trapping-season-ends-with-record-high-of-non-target-animal-deaths/

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/04/30/us/30traps.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

– {this is about dogs, a grizzly bear and wolves caught in cruel traps} http://www.thewildlifenews.com/tag/wolf-trapping/

b. Penning

http://aldf.org/cases-campaigns/action-alerts/action-alert-archive/2011-2/help-stop-the-cruel-practice-of-penning-coyotes-foxes-in-indiana/

https://awionline.org/content/trapping-and-penning {“The U.S. lags far behind the rest of the world in regard to trapping reforms. More than 85 countries have banned or severely restricted the use of the leghold trap, including all member countries of the European Union. Only eight states have enacted bans or significant restrictions on leghold traps: Florida, Rhode Island, New Jersey, Arizona, Colorado, Massachusetts, California and Washington.”}

http://www.examiner.com/article/extreme-animal-suffering-uncovered-at-indiana-penning-facility

*DATA:
Just FYI: The fuel that trappers and penners use is to stop predation of cattle on ranches and farms as it represents a major loss in dollars. This is not true – please look at the data:

2010 Cattle and calf losses – predator and non-predator (excluding Alaska) Total: 3.99 million.

2010 Cattle and calf Losses-Predator: 220,000 head {5.5% or $98.5 cost}. Of the 5.5 % number – dogs are responsible for 53.1% and coyotes – 9.9%.

2010 Cattle and calf Losses-Non- Predator: 3.77 million {94.5% of total} Of the 94.5% – leading causes of deaths: respiratory – 28%, digestive – 13.4%.

Data Source: USDA May 12, 2011 release by National Agricultural Statistics Services (NASS), Agricultural Statistics Board, and USDA. http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/usda/current/CattDeath/CattDeath-05-12-2011.pdf

About Deborah Leddon

Vegetarian Mother and Wife, Scientist at UTD CSS, passionate about my family, animal rights, the outdoors and my violin.
This entry was posted in Animal Rights, Dogs, Social Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

